I Have Been Blessed

I am so glad you joined me today for the Autumn Blessings Blog Hop.  It goes along with the Autumn Blessings Crop at CardSwaps.  The crop is from November 16-19, 2011 and you have until November 22, 2011 to get your projects posted to the challenge threads and in the drawings for prizes.  It’s a lot of fun.  At the end of the blog hop, you’ll hop right on over to the CardSwaps board.  We hope to see you there!  You should have gotten here from Judy’s amazing blog.  Her work is always fantastic and often vintage.  If you haven’t seen the blogs before mine, please start at the beginning of the hop so you don’t miss anything!

If you haven’t noticed, the theme of this blog hop is: I have been blessed.  I bet you can think of several things, people, or circumstances you have been blessed with.  When I started thinking about what I have been blessed with, the list was never-ending.  As “never-ending” is a bit broad, I started trying to narrow it down and came to the family and the craftiness God has blessed me with.  I have an amazingly wonderful husband, two fantastic children (though they are both actually adults, now), two great dogs, a loving family, great in-laws, a wonderful brother, nieces, nephews, cousins, aunts and uncles, and I still have one grandmother, plus one of my husband’s grandmothers.  Whew!  And that is just the start.  While I was thinking about all God has blessed me with, I thought of the crafting abilities He gave me.  Which made me think about how talented my daughter, my mother and my grandmother are.  My niece is pretty talented, too.  So, I made a card for my grandmother that shows her crafty legacy going down through the generations.  My grandmother is on the top – she makes amazing quilts, sews, and does many other crafty things; then my mother who weaves, sews, spins, and so much more; next comes me, who can sew (though not nearly as well as my mother and grandmother or even my daughter), make cards, candles, bows and a few other things; to my daughter who is an amazing photographer, makes cards and does fantastically intricate designs on her nails every few days; and then my niece who is just getting started in her craftiness, but she loves to draw and make things for people.

I’m all about having fun, so as she unwinds the cord, each door pops open.  Oh, I also used our favorite colors to represent each of us.  My grandmother is purple, my mom is turquoise, I used blue, my daughter is pink and my niece is green.  Here’s what it looks like when the doors are open.

Next on the hop is Ana.  And let me tell you, she is a blessing, not just to her own family and co-workers, but to me and everyone else at CardSwaps as well.

Thanks for joining me today!  I look forward to seeing you at the Autumn Blessings Crop.  So, hop on over to Ana’s blog and I’ll catch up with you later.

If you get lost on the hop, here is the list where you can find yourself again.

Lora

Judy L 

Golda  <– You are here!

Ana 

SusieQ 

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

20 thoughts on “I Have Been Blessed”

  1. Okay… you should not do something so sweet and touching on your blog, because it will leave your readers in tears. This was such a touching posting, Golda. It makes me think about my own grandmothers and mother and their legacy… all the time and talent they shared with me to mold me in to the person I am today… we should forever be grateful for the creative crafts that have been taught to us through our families. That is such a great card. Thanks so much for sharing your story. 🙂

    Like

  2. This is adorable Golda! I feel blessed to know you through Card Swaps. I always enjoy reading your posts and you are always willing to help and volunteer on the site. Thank you for being my card making friend!

    Like

  3. Golda, you are always so creative in your designs. What a precious card for your grandmother with so much meaning woven into it. She will be so blessed by it.
    Speaking of being blessed, you are a real blessing at Card Swaps. You always have such a cheerful and helpful attitude. You are always ready to pitch in and take up the slack to keep everything running smoothly. Thanks for who you are and all you do.
    Blessings on your day,
    Teresa

    Like

  4. very cute card here like very much your story
    like very much the little door went you open it and see all of the pretty color you have in there
    thank for showing

    Like

  5. Golda you are such an inspiration to me! Every thing you make is so creative and just unique to you. I love this card so much and I can tell that much love went into making it. The colors that represent your family and the way the windows open is just awesome. You are such a fun and loving person on the board. I have really loved and enjoyed getting to know you these last few years. You make us all happy when we read your posts. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.
    Hugs

    Like

  6. Golda this is such a cute card and a wonderful tribute to your grandmother and mother. Your post was very touching. I am so happy to have met you on CardSwaps. You have such ah cheerful and positive attitude and you make me smile when I don’t always feel like it. Thank you for all you do and for your kind comments on my blog today. Blessings – Judy

    Like

    1. Judy, you are so very sweet. Thank you and I’m glad I can give you a smile once in a while. I’m hoping it is God’s love you see shining through.

      Like

Thanks for leaving a comment!