Tornado

This week is the “We’re Off To See the Wizard” crop on We Craft Cards.  For my challenge, people are asked to make a spinner card or project.

The basics on making a spinner card, is to create a hole through the front of the card, then a piece smaller than the hole, with a front and a back.  There is a string or cord that goes from top to bottom of the hole with the front and back on it.  When the card is opened, the piece spins.  Here are two options for doing this.

This first one is just a circle hole, with a smaller circle piece that twists in the center.  As long as you can cut circles, you can decorate this in any way you want.

Twister 1  These are the pieces used.  I do suggest you not layer two pieces of card, with a piece of paper on top and then try to cut through it.  It was a bit thick to cut easily.  The scalloped circle was just for decoration.

Twister 2  I laid the card base down, with the front of my spinner piece in the center, facing down, then tied knots in the string, at both the top and bottom, to help hold it in place.  I used score tape, as it is quite strong, though I’ve never had a problem using my regular adhesive.  As you can see, there is adhesive above and below the knot, over the string, including on the back of the spinner piece.  Before putting the second piece of card inside, to cover the string, I used regular adhesive around the edges, as well as around the edges of my aperture (opening).

Twister 4  I also placed the back of the spinner on, adding regular adhesive along the edges to hold it together well.  I did close my card and mark the edges of the spinning piece, to see where to put my inside sentiment, then erased those marks, after stamping.

Twister 5  The finished card.  The flower spins and has the birthday sentiment on the back.

The second example is done much the same, just using a shaped spinning piece.

Twister 2-1  Twister 2-2  Twister 2-3  Twister 2-4

These spinning cards are fairly quick to make and certainly fun for the recipient.

Go check out the crop and join in.  For each challenge you participate in, a small prize is offered to a random participant.

Thanks for spending some time with me today.

Published by

Golda

I am a child of God, wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. My favorite things to do are: read, make cards and candles, share what I've learned.

Thanks for leaving a comment!